2 years of Online Classes ✍️

B.tech ( Mechanical ) at Jamia Millia Islamia

·

3 min read

Yes,
due to covid, my two years of classes were online.

was it better for me?

Probably, yes 😊.

🤔 Why?

Because I loved programming and did what I wished to do 💖

  • making project
  • learning any new skill
  • reading any book
  • doing freelancing
  • going for interviews

So lets start from beginning 👈

  • 1st semester 👶

    After admission, I was added to a WhatsApp group.
    There I met all of my classmates, but the group was like ( Only admin can send messages ).
    After talking to few of them, I created an unofficial group for our class ( Section E ). We held online meets and games.

    In the meantime, I created my first portfolio website.
    And this semester lasted for 2.5 months. ( you can dm me and I can explain it. )

  • 2nd semester 🧑‍🎓

    This time, I was into Blender ( the 3d design kinda stuff) and academics.
    I was completing my assignments the day they get assigned and sharing them with all of my classmates.
    I took courses on probability and statistics from khanAcademy youtube channel.
    I also watched CrashCourse's playlist on Philosophy, Psychology and Economics.
    I watched CrashCourse videos twice in order to get it because english was not my native language.
    One of the advantages of all these was that it increased my attention span and improved my listening skill.
    Due to covid, I saw the deaths of many close relatives this semester.

  • 3rd semester 🧑‍💻

    This time, I was into coding and making projects and a lot of healthy mistakes.
    I explored React, Firebase and RestAPI, and made a lot of projects.
    These days were so damn hard for me ( mentally). I was coding for 12 to 13 hours a day. If I got stuck on any problem and after trying a few solutions, I used to go to bed thinking it's impossible and I can't do it. But the next morning, when I use to try the problems and after a few google searches it gets solved.
    I am grateful for every single concept and skill I have learned.
    I created my Upwork profile and got 2 to 3 clients too .

  • 4th semester 👨‍🏭

    I joined my first internships at Meta16labs thanks to Shoeb Ilyas.
    There, I learned a lot of things. It was a startup so the opportunity to learn new things was abundant.

  • after 4th semester (online classes) and before 5th semester (offline classes) 📰

    This was the time, I got active on LinkedIn, Twitter, and hashnode.
    I shared my experiences of internship and programming on these platforms.
    In search of open-source, I started my own open-source npm package algebra-for-you.

🙋‍♂️ NOTE : The boundaries of semester I have defined are not that absolute.

I learned all of the skills free of cost on youtube and other free resources. ( I don't know I need to mention this or not but anyway😅 I loved the journey and looking for further exciting things to happen).

Thank You For Reading 💝

I would like to thank all those YouTubers who made great videos, bloggers who wrote great content, and open-source contributors for their hard work that helped me in my journey .